J.S. Bach: Notenbüchilein Für Anna Magdalena Bach

The Overview

Classical Masterpiece Collection

The reissue of classical music masterpieces by ESOTERIC has attracted a lot of attention, both for its uncompromising commitment to recreating the original master sound, and for using hybrid Super Audio CD (SACD) technology to improve sound quality. This series marks the first hybrid SACD release of historical recording selections that have been mainstays of the catalog since their initial release on LP, until the present digital age of CD. These new audio versions feature ESOTERIC’s proprietary re-mastering process to achieve the highest level of sound quality.

ESOTERIC equipment used for re-mastering

The criterion of re-mastering is to faithfully capture the quality of the original master tapes. ESOTERIC’s flag ship D/A converters, model D-01VU, Rubidium master clock generator model G-0Rb and ESOTERIC MEXCEL interconnect cables and power cords, were all used for this re-mastering session. This combination of highly advanced technology greatly contributed to capturing the high quality sound of the original master tapes.

Experience by yourself…

Experience the legendary performance in this new Super Audio CD/CD format. Not only for new followers, but also for well experienced followers of these recorded materials. All will be equally impressed by the “soul” hidden within the notes, but never before found in previously released recordings in any format.

Title and Track list

  • Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750): Wachet auf, ruft uns die Stimme from: Cantata BWV140/organ prelude BWV645
  • J.S.Bach: O Ewigkeit, du Donnerwort Chorale No.42, BWV513
  • Anon: Gedenke doch, mein Geist zurücke Aria No.41, BWV509
  • J.S.Bach: Wer nur den, mein Geist Zurücke Chorale No.11, BWV691
  • François Couperin (1668-1733): Rondeau No.6, "Les Bergeries" BWV Anhang 183
  • Anon: Musette No.22 BWV Anhang 126
  • Christian Petzold (1677-1733): Menuet No.4·Menuet No.5 BWV Anhang114&115
  • J.S.Bach: Gib dich zufrieden und sei stille Chorale No.12, BWV510
  • J.S.Bach: Gib dich zufrieden und sei stille Chorale No.13a, BWV511
  • Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach (1714-1788): Marche·Plonaise·Marche·Plonaise Nos.16-19, BWV Anhang122-125
  • Anon: Erbauliche Gedanken eins Tobachrauchers (So oft ich meine Tobachspfeife) Aria No.20b(c), BWV515a (?Gottfried Heinrich Bach, 1724-1761)
  • J.S.Bach:Prelude and Fugue in C No.29, BWV846
  • Anon: Wie wohl ist mir, o Freund der Seelen Aria No.40, BWV517
  • Anon: Menuet No.14 BWV Anhang 120
  • Anon: Schaff's mit mir Gott Chorale No.35, BWV514 (J.S.Bach?)
  • Anon (Giovannini,Comte de Germain?-c.1782?): Willst du dein Herz mir schenken "Aria di Gilvannini " No.37, BWV518
  • Anon (J.S.Bach?): Warum betrübst du dich Aria No.33, BWV516
  • Anon: Menuet No.36·Menuet no.15 BWV Anhang 132&121
  • J.S.Bach: Dir,dir,Jehova Chorale No.39, BWV299
  • Gotfried Heinrich Stölzel (1690-1749): Bist du bei mir Aria no.25, BWV508
  • J.S.Bach: Aria No.26 BWV988 (Goldberg Variations)
  • Anon (Gottfried Heinrich Bach?): So oft ich meine Tobackspfeife Aria No.20a, BWV515
  • J.S.Bach: Ich habe genug! Recitativo No.34, BWV82.ii
  • J.S.Bach: Schlummert ein, ihr matten Augen Aria No.34/38, BWV82.iii


  • Directed by Stephen Stubbs
  • John Ptter, tenor
  • Emily Van Evera, soprano
  • Harvey Brough, baritone
  • Richard Wistreich, bass
  • Erin Headley, viola da gamba:
  • Peter Hu¨tmannsberger (afte Stainer) 1989
  • Andrew Lawrence - King, organ: Bernhard Junghänel 1990. arpanetta: Roger Rose (after an original in the Victoria & Albert Museun) 1989, double harp: Simon Capp1990, tripke harp: Tim Hobrough (after Mersenne) 1989
  • Stephen Stubbs (director), lute:
  • Stephen Barber 1991


  • Recorded: St.Andrew's Church, Toddington, April 1991
  • Executive Producer: Wolfgang Mohr, Maria Prohmann
  • Recording producer, recording engineer and digital editing: Jaohn Hadden


  • Producer: Motoaki Ohmachi (ESOTERIC COMPANY)
  • Mastering Engineer: Kazuie Sugimoto
    (Victor Creative Media Co., Ltd. Mastering Center)