The production quality of this vinyl record is strictly controlled by ESOTERIC without compromise, re-vitalizing the experience and integrity of the original master! This re-master is an ESOTERIC exclusive production and there were very limited quantities produced.

  • Digitally re-mastered using ESOTERIC equipment *1
  • Specially tuned direct lacquer cutting equipment
  • No equalizer, no limiter, and no filters used for this cutting process!
  • "Master press disc;" providing true original master sound quality *2
  • Limited production; 1,000 discs
  • 200g heavy weight vinyl *3
  1. The criterion of re-mastering is to faithfully capture the quality of the original master tapes. ESOTERIC's flag ship D/A converters, model D-01VU, Rubidium master clock generator model G-0Rb and ESOTERIC MEXCEL cables, were all used for this re-mastering session. This combination of highly advanced technology greatly contributed to capturingthe high quality sound of the original master tapes.
  2. This vinyl was directly pressed from the first mold produced by the original Lacquer. The "Mother" copy extraction and its mold do not exist during the production process (two processes shorter than conventional vinyl production); allowing the groove edge to remain sharp on final vinyl. As a result press quantity is extremely limited!!
  3. All material quality is carefully selected and strictly managed for reduced surface noise.

A collaboration work from two of the worlds greatest Mozart admirers - Curzon, a British piano virtuoso and Britten, a composer / conductor, have brilliantly revived original recordings helping to create a newly re-mastered vinyl disc.

A selection of historical masterpiece recordings, re-mastered with cutting edge technologies and with ESOTERIC's respect for music - ESOTERIC vinyl collections take listeners to the "next level" of musical expression.

The Decca debut of a great conductor-Kertész:

Hungarian conductors, starting with Nikisch and followed by Fricsay, Ormandy, Szell, and Solti, István Kertész (August 28, 1929-April 16, 1973), dominated the world of glorious conducting in the 1960's, filling various posts as the General Music Director of the Augsburg Opera (1960-1963), and the Cologne Opera (1964-1973), and as principal conductor of the London Symphony Orchestra (1965-1968).

During this period, he recorded many great albums for Decca, conducting the VPO, the LSO, and the Israel Philharmonic Orchestra, (but sadly drowned in 1973 while swimming in Tel Aviv, which was a great loss to all).

This album is a monumental recording for Kertész as his debut for the UK's Decca label. Particularly in Japan, From the New World has been a "must have" ever since its first release by King Records in 1961. In this respect, it sits alongside the RCA version by Reiner/Chicago Symphony Orchestra, the Columbia version by Bernstein/New York Philharmonic, the Epic version by Szell/Cleveland Orchestra, and the DG version by Karajan/BPO. Taking advantage of the full timbre of the VPO with its long tradition, Kertész-then just 32 years old-added dramatic changes in tempo and gave full life to the work. The heavy hammering rhythms of the tympani and the roar of brass created a thrilling intensity, as if it was a concert recording. Five years later in 1966, Kertész re-recorded this symphony, conducting the London Symphony Orchestra, accomplishing a mellower performance in place of the youth and dynamism of his earlier recording. Among Japanese fans, this VPO version has been much more appreciated.

A great recording in the Sofiensaal, where the Decca sound was created

The album was produced by Ray Minshull who was responsible many of Kert?sz's recordings for Decca, working with engineer James Brown. The Sofiensaal was built as a bathhouse in the early 19th century, was later used as a dance hall, and is famous for Johann Strauss's frequent appearances on its stage. From 1956 to the 1980's, it served as the home of Decca's stereo recording sessions in Vienna. This venue is the most suitable for Decca's recording policy of clearly recording and reproducing the details of the sound, and the legendary recording of Solti's "The Ring of the Nibelung" has been accompanied by recording after recording representing the Decca sound. This From the New World is one of them, definitively and three-dimensionally reproducing the crisp sounds of the tympani, the delicate brightness of the brass, the unique resonance of the Vienna oboes, clarinets, and other woodwinds, and the silky, deep string parts-particularly the solid low strings. And even after nearly 50 years since its recording, its enchanting clear sounds have never lost their freshness.

" ideal version of From the New World...with all of the required elements" (excerpt from the liner notes on the original LP).

"A magnificent orchestral tapestry with such depth must be the result of Kert?sz's symphonic interpretation of the score, but in its approach, it's much greater than that of Karajan. This is due to not only the symphonic interpretation, but also all of the types of elements included. Changes of tempo are dynamic and many, and while in some cases they intensely liven up the music, in others they sing touchingly, arousing in the listener a feeling of nostalgia. Taking full advantage of the VPO's strengths, the string instruments express a nuance of graceful adoration. Meanwhile, the brass section is required to play forcefully, with a robustness that doesn't sound like the VPO, emphasizing the folk tradition behind the composition. This is also expressed in the powerful sound of the powerfully struck tympani...I have to say this is an ideal version of From the New World, that is truly magnificent with all of the required elements"-Koho Uno, LP Techo, 1962.

Title and track list
Antonin Dvorak (1841-1904)
Symphony No.9 in E minor, Op.95 "From the New World"

[SIDE ONE] Piano Concerto No.20 in D Minor K.466
  1. 1st mov. Adagio-Allegro molto
  2. 2nd mov. Largo
  1. 3rd mov. Scherzo (Molto vivace)
  2. 4th mov. Allegro con fuoco

Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra
Conducted by Istvan Kertesz

Producer: Ray Minshull
Engineer: James Brown
Location: Sofiensaal, Vienna
Recording date: March 22-24 1961

Producer: Motoaki Ohmachi (ESOTERIC COMPANY)
Mastering Engineer: Kazuie Sugimoto (JVC Mastering Center)
Date: August 26, 2008 at JVC Mastering Center.

Cutting Engineer: Toru Kotetsu (JVC Mastering Center)
Date: February 2009 at JVC Mastering Center
Cutting Lathe: Neumann VMS70 (JVC Special Custom Manufacture)
Cutting Head: Neumann SX-74
Cutter Drive Amplifier: Neumann SP-75 (JVC Special Custom Manufacture)

  • Product ID: ESLP-10002
  • Format: 12" LP
  • Label: Decca
  • Stereo
  • 200g heavy weight vinyl
  • Master Press disc